WILLIAM & MARY

BOARD OF VISITORS
COMMITTEE ON ACADEMIC AFFAIRS
DRAFT MINUTES
NOVEMBER 17, 2022
ALUMNI HOUSE - HUNTER HALL

COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT

Ms. Barbara L. Johnson, Chair

Dr. Karen Kennedy Schultz, Vice Chair

Mr. Kendrick F. Ashton, Jr.

Mr. S. Douglas Bunch

Dr. David S. Armstrong, Faculty Representative

Ms. Claire Wyszynski, Student Representative

COMMITTEE MEMBERS ABSENT

Mr. C. Michael Petters

OTHER BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT

Mr. James A. Hixon

Mr. Stephen J. Huebner

Hon. John E. Littel

Hon. Charles E. Poston, Rector

Ms. Laura Keehner Rigas

Ms. Ardine Williams

Ms. Jasmin Martinez¹, Vice President of the

Student Assembly

Dr. Shannon H. White², GIS Certificate

Coordinator

OTHERS PRESENT

Dr. Katherine A. Rowe, President

Dr. Peggy Agouris, Provost

Dr. Virginia M. Ambler, Vice President for Student Affairs

Ms. Jackie Ferree, Interim Chief Operating Officer

Dr. W. Fanchon Glover, Chief Diversity Officer

Dr. D. Derek Aday, VIMS Dean and Director

Dr. Robert C. Knoeppel, Dean of the School of Education

Dr. Jeremy P. Martin, Chief of Staff

Ms. Carrie S. Nee, University Counsel

Mr. Brian W. Whitson, Chief Communications Officer

Mr. Andrew Cowen, President's Office Intern

Mr. Michael J. Fox, Senior Assistant to the President and Secretary to the Board of Visitors

Ms. Jessica Walton, Deputy Secretary to the Board of Visitors

Members of the President's Cabinet

W&M Staff and Faculty

CALL TO ORDER AND INTRODUCTORY REMARKS

Ms. Barbara L. Johnson, Chair, called the Committee on Academic Affairs to order at 3:33 p.m.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Recognizing that a quorum was present, Ms. Johnson asked for a motion to adopt the minutes of the September 22, 2022 meeting. Motion was made by Ms. Karen Kennedy Schultz, seconded by Mr. S. Douglas Bunch, and approved by voice vote.

¹ Attending on behalf of Student Representative to the Board, Mr. John Cho

² Attending on behalf of Staff Liaison to the Board, Mr. Marc Kelly

Committee on Academic Affairs – November 17, 2022 DRAFT Minutes Page 2

PROVOST'S REPORT

Dr. Peggy Agouris, Provost, reported that Dr. Suzanne Raitt was appointed Acting Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences and officially starts the position in January 2023. Dr. Agouris said the search for a permanent Dean is underway via a committee chaired by Mr. A. Benjamin Spencer, Dean of the School of Law. The committee consists of 17 members.

Provost Agouris reported that the search for a new Chief Operating Officer, of which she is the committee chair, is also underway.

Provost Agouris reported that there is continuing thought, exploration, and consideration on how to support various areas of growth in Arts and Sciences and beyond. She said she will provide more detail during the February and April Board meetings.

ACTION MATERIALS

Ms. Johnson brought forth and requested a motion on the following resolutions:

• Resolution 3: Appointments to Fill Vacancies in the Instructional Faculty

Resolution 4: Award of Academic Tenure
 Resolution 5: Faculty Leave of Absence

Resolutions 3-5 were moved as a block by Mr. Kendrick F. Ashton, Jr., seconded by Ms. Schultz, and approved by voice vote.

Ms. Johnson then brought forth and requested a motion on the following resolutions:

Retirement of...

• **Resolution 6:** Peter A. Alces – Law School

• **Resolution 7:** Tun-jen Cheng – Department of Government

Resolutions 6-7 were moved as a block by Mr. Ashton, seconded by Mr. S. Douglas Bunch, and approved by voice vote.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, Ms. Johnson adjourned the meeting at 3:39 p.m.